13 Fast Facts About Boxing Day

Written by: Luke Ward
Reading time: 2 mins
Last updated: July 23, 2021

In Australia, New Zealand, Canada and UK, Boxing Day is the heaviest shopping day of the year.

Boxing Day Facts

Boxing Day traditionally lands on 26th December each year.

It’s a day for giving, especially to the less fortunate.

It’s the day after Christmas, and whilst not quite as special, or as widely celebrated as Christmas Day itself, Boxing Day still has some unique facts and history that surrounds this day.

Read the facts below to find out who celebrates Boxing Day, and what other names we have for the day after Christmas.

So without further ado, here are 13 fast facts about Boxing Day!

Boxing Day is celebrated all over the world. To name a few countries that celebrate this special day are: Australia, Austria, Canada, Germany, Greenland, Hong Kong, Jamaica, Kenya, New Zealand, Norway, Romania, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

In South Africa, Boxing Day is known as “Day of Goodwill”. This day is about giving to the less fortunate.

In Ireland Boxing Day is known as “Saint Stevens Day” or “the feast of Saint Stephen”. It’s one of nine official public holidays in Ireland.

In other continental European countries, it is known as “Christmas II” or “Second Christmas Day”.

Boxing Day traditions depend on the location, however it includes shopping, giving money and gifts to the less fortunate, and a day of watching sporting events like horse racing and football.

Boxing Day Facts You Didn't Know!

On Boxing Day 2004 a massive 9.3 magnitude earthquake created a tsunami around the Indian Ocean resulting in the deaths of over 300,000 people. Indonesia was the worst affected country, followed by Sri Lanka, India and Thailand. It was the deadliest natural disaster in Boxing Day history.

In Australia, New Zealand, Canada and UK, Boxing Day is the heaviest shopping day of the year. It’s even busier than Black Friday & Cyber Monday.

Boxing Day is one of the British bank holidays recognized since 1871.

There is no official reason as to why it is known as “Boxing Day”.

On Boxing Day in the UK, the most popular online searches for shopping are sale items.

National Candy Cane Day is celebrated 26th December every year in the United States.

On 26th December 1973, William Friedkin’s horror masterpiece “The Exorcist” was released.

On this day in 2006, Former US president Gerarld Ford died at his home in California. He was president between 1974 & 1977.

Leave A Comment